Experiments in Dramatic Writing

April 1, 2006 at 12:33 am (Theatre, Writing) (, , )

The adjudication of our new plays was last night… it went exceedingly well, to the point where I was almost embarrassed by the praise one of the respondents was heaping on me.

The play: Antarctica.

The summary: Godot on skis.

The verdict: They loved it. Both of them had universally spanning epiphanies during the show, which I suppose is all I could ask for and more. They also enjoyed the monologue (Stag King), telling me that I was “a very good playwright.” As a self-flagellating artist, it was nice to hear that… they really “got it” too, which is the ultimate compliment. I don’t think I could have been more blessed. Thanks to my cast and crew for working so hard to make it magical for me… I love theatre… I really do.

In other news… work on the experimental play continues… an excerpt:

4. Better Days Ahoy!

(MUTE enters pushing a wheelbarrow full of sausages. He is dressed as JESUS CHRIST, with halo and flowing white robe. He very slowly crosses the stage. At center he stops, takes a bite out of one of the sausages. He chews it thoughtfully for a moment, then speaks to the audience.)

MUTE

Delicious.

(After a beat, MUTE slowly pushes the wheelbarrow offstage. Lights shift.)

I think that says it all.

Leave a Reply

