I don’t know where I am anymore…

September 23, 2010 at 8:03 am (Personal)

I feel the need to write, like I used to write, with the sharpened edge of a tortured artist, too pretentious for his own good, too introspective to care.

This will be one of those entries. If you are the kind of person who can’t handle raw honesty and who makes fun of people who use big words and let words flow out of them when they’re feeling emotional: fuck you. Get off my blog. I didn’t ask you to read it. You’re reading it because you want to.

I heard the most beautiful, saddest thing this morning. The band Cursive has a song called “What Have I Done?” If you haven’t listened to it and you’re in your 20’s – 30’s, go find it right now, listen to the lyrics, sit there in shock at how it perfectly sums everything up and come back here and hug me.

The prolonged adolescence of this generation is an enormous social problem. Twenty years ago, by this age most of us would be married with careers and families. Today, 30 year olds finish college and move out of their parents’ house after having a big party to celebrate their super-sweet-30th.

I’m writing. I’m writing a lot. That’s good. Now if I can do something with it, make it matter in a bigger way, get other people to read it, feel like I’ve reached the culmination of something, anything – so much the merrier.

How do you measure success?

I’m producing theatre. I have friends who I don’t see as often as I want to. I write novels. I go to conventions. I have nine letters behind my job title, in sets of three, signifying certifications that make me more valuable to the industry.

What have I done?

Leave a Reply

