Surreality on the backroads

March 4, 2006 at 1:33 pm (Personal) (, )

I took a journey out to the vineyards today. For those of you who are unaware, Southern Illinois is a beautiful forested region in the heart of wine country.

The plan was to pick up something for my girlfriend’s birthday.

After driving the hills and curves of SoIll while listening to Mike Patton’s surreal and bizarre musical project Fantomas, my mind began to play tricks.

I got a bit lost, and the curves began to make impossible shapes.

I envisioned a man standing in the road behind me.

On second look, it was a long strip of tar.

A donkey and I stared deeply at each other as I passed a farm.

Chickens walked in the road.

At one point, I felt like I had left my body and was careening through the countryside unfettered by mortal constraints.

The suburban white man version of a vision quest?

Perhaps.

And no, I didn’t have any port wine in me until the trip back.

“I don’t take drugs. I am drugs.” – Salvador Dali

1 Comment

  1. iheartfiber said,

    Great quote.
    Nice to see you’re not dead or anything 🙂 Where ya been?

Leave a Reply

