My work in a Chicago Theatre? You don’t say!

May 24, 2005 at 10:22 am (Uncategorized)

Wow, what a weekend.

I spent this past weekend up in Chicago, which was a lot of fun in itself, but what really made the weekend was my reason for being there in the first place. I travelled up to the Windy City with five other playwrights from SIU as part of an event set up by Dr. David Rush where the prestigious and innovative Chicago Dramatists theatre staged pieces of our plays!

They did a 10 minute scene from my newest play Harold and Janice Face the End of the Universe. This is going to be the play we have a staged reading of down here at SIU later this summer, so it was fun to workshop it a bit in advance, especially in one of the biggest theatre cities in the world. How many people are lucky enough to go to Chicago for the first time ever in order to see their work on stage for an audience? I am totally counting my blessings here!

They brought in professional equity actors and directors to work on our pieces, which was also incredible. Just to see these people who are living that dream in a professional capacity bring life to my play was absolutely inspiring. It made me feel like perhaps I could make it out in the real world doing creative things.

The idea that I wasn’t there as a friend of the actors and director, but as a professional playwright with a script to work on just floored me. And everyone at Chicago Dramatists was so supportive of the work we brought them… it felt really good… validating. Between my music, writing, acting, whatever else I decide to do… it’s always reassuring to have people appreciate what I’m trying to do. I’m my own worst critic, and to have people enjoy my work is so… wonderful.

In many ways, I finally really feel like I’m making that transition to adulthood… beginning my professional career, I guess… I know there’s a long way to go, but this kind of encouragement helps sustain me on the journey there… awesome weekend. THANK YOU to everyone who supports artists out there in the world, that’s SO incredibly important I can’t put my gratitude into words…

1 Comment

  1. iheartfiber said,

    I’m so proud of you!!!
    Dude, that is so awesome! You know, I think I’m going to keep leaving you notes and corresponding with you, so that I can make a collection of them. One day when you’re super-uber famous, I can sell them on E-bay and make a fortune!
    Or wait, maybe you’ll just give me lots of money for believing in you the whole time 😉 hehe…

Leave a Reply

