Naked and Screaming in the Rain

February 7, 2005 at 9:15 am (Personal, Theatre, Writing)

The title of this entry doesn’t have a lot to do with the content, although emotionally I feel rather naked, thus my entry, and mentally I’ve been doing a lot of screaming lately. Also, it’s raining today.

I knew graduate school wouldn’t be a walk in the park, but I feel sometimes that my mouth is full. It’s not more than I can chew, but it hurts my jaw and makes me want to spit some out just so I can breathe. With the immense work load in tow, the assistantship job in publicity is sucking the life out of me lately. It’s one of those jobs where nobody notices it until they feel something is amiss, and then you’re blamed for not doing the tasks that you didn’t know were yours in the first place. It’s terribly difficult to publicize information when you aren’t given the information in the first place, and when you ask the people who should no and they simply shrug and tell you to ask someone else, you’re pretty much up a creek.

Despite that, life in general has been okay I suppose, although I haven’t really been here for it. My full length play “Louie’s at 1st and Main” opened for it’s second production this past weekend, this time at my old college, Minot State University. I’ve been informed that it sold out 2 out of 3 nights (opening night was almost full), which is incredible and great news for me. I’ve been getting emails from people who I only knew in passing telling me how “beautiful” and “moving” my play was; a much needed boost of confidence. I would have liked to have been there for it, but I can’t do much about that, given my distinct lack of time and money.

Thus begins another week of screaming. Hopefully there will be some rest as well. I don’t know if my brain can handle all that noise.

Leave a Reply

