Happiness is…

May 8, 2004 at 2:22 am (Uncategorized)

I haven’t been this happy in a long time. It was just a great day.

I usually describe my mood by percent, with 0% being abysmally depressed and probably already dead, and 100% being impossibly happy and having a perfect life. 50% is right on the “OK” mark. Today, I’m at 91%, which is about as high as my scale realistically goes. Why all the happy? Several reasons:

I woke up this morning without having to go to classes, since it’s the last day of class and most teachers were either doing “finals reviews” or skipping class entirely. I went to school to help my friend Jill with a performance art project, which was pure mindless fun for me, and then I went on to celebrate no pants day, by taking off my pants. After that, Jill (being the wonderful person she is) took me and some other folks to lunch. After all this, I was in the 80% range, which is pretty happy…

The afternoon of relaxing that followed kept me high spirited, and then an amazingly cool crowd tonight for my one-man performance of Sex Drugs Rock and Roll by Eric Bogosian helped push my mood up to the late 80%’s. Everyone seemed to truly enjoy the show, and appreciate my hard work, which made me feel like it was all worth it.

The girl I’ve been seeing off and on decided to come tonight, and stayed around afterwards for a date. Not only did she enjoy the show (lots) but I got to take her to coffee… 89%.

This was pushed up to 91%, which is around the highest I’ve ever gone, a few minutes ago (well, close to an hour now) when we finally had…

OUR FIRST KISS… (and our second right afterward.) 🙂

Call me a romantic, but it was wonderful… such soft lips… ah Erin… that name will be in my head all night.

(The cynical side of me is sleeping. Shhh… don’t wake it.)

🙂

1 Comment

  1. jesse_dylan said,

    Oh Mike
    You’re such a great guy, and I’m so happy you had a great day.
    You were amazing. I’d like to reiterate here everything I said about you tonight for everyone to see, but… I don’t remember any of it.
    Except how I kept thinking, “I am so proud to be this guy’s friend.”
    I love you, man.
    Let the cynical side sleep for a while. 🙂 You deserve that. You’re my hero.

Leave a Reply

