I bought a coffee maker!

April 6, 2004 at 7:57 am (Uncategorized)

I bought a coffee maker. I decided it was time. I recently joined an internet coffee club where they send me beans each month that I roast and grind myself for fresh coffee. I’ve never been that much of a coffee drinker (tea is more my style) but it sounded so interesting I decided to try it out. This, of course, led to the glaring problem of not owning a coffee-maker, so I went out and got a nice little 4-cup Mr. Coffee. Now Mr. Coffee sits proudly on my counter, waiting to take me to caffeinated bliss.

The first bean I tried earlier today was something called “Highland Grog.” The Scottish in me was yelling “Try this, laddie!” while playing the bag-pipes, so I tried it.

Step 1: Roast the coffee.

The instructions say that if you have a 1000 watt-microwave, you should nuke the little bag of beans for 45 seconds for a regular roast. I did as it told me, noticing the faint scent of burning coffee in the air. When I opened the microwave, steam began to pour out of the thing. I pulled the bag to safety only to find that a small hole had melted in the bottom of the bag and a few of the bottom beans were now coated in melted bag. I didn’t use those, but the rest went into my nifty new Italian grinder.

Step 2: Grind the coffee.

I plugged in the grinder and pressed the button. WHEEE!!! Such fun! Spin spin spin as it cuts up the beans!

Step 3: Brew the coffee.

Mr. Coffee did his work while I waited for my first sip of highlander grog. When it was done, I brought the cup to my trembling lips with anticipation…

BLEARGH!

That’s some strong coffee!!! WHOO!

(twitch)

I want more… coffee coffee coffeecoffeeCOFFEECOFFEE!!!!!

Leave a Reply

